Peak Assault Facts and Figures


Year Venue Winning Team
1968 Edale, Peak District 25 SWH (North Watford VSU)
1969 Capel Curig, North Wales Abbots Langley
1970 Coetmor Mill, North Wales Milbourne VSU
1971 The Carneddau, North Wales Milbourne VSU
1972 Brecon Beacons, North Watford VSU
1973 Cadair Idris, North Wales Croxley Green VSU
1974 The Glyders, North Wales Croxley Green VSU
1975 Dartmoor, Devon North Watford VSU
1976 Cadair Idris, North Wales North Watford VSU
1977 The Rhinogs, North Wales Batchworth VSU
1978 Cadair Idris, North Wales North Watford VSU
1979 Coetmor Mill, North Wales Harpenden VSU
1980 Dartmoor Harpenden VSU
1981 Exmoor North Watford VSU
1982 Eskdale, Lake District Harpenden VSU
1983 Dolwyddelan, North Wales Brookmans Park VSU
1984 Aisgill Moor, Yorkshire Lygean VSU
1985 Mungrisdale, Lake District Silver Leys VSU
1986 Beddgelert, North Wales Potten End VSU
1987 Ullswater, Lake District Harpenden VSU
1988 Edale, Peak District 9th St.Albans VSU
1989 Howgill Fells, Lake District Harpenden VSU
1990 Eastern Fells, Lake District Harpenden VSU
1991 The Rhinogs, North Wales Muntjac VSU
1992 Coed Y Brenin Forest, North Wales Omega VSU
1993 Northern Fells, Lake District Omega VSU
1994 Aisgill Moor, Yorkshire Oddy VSU
1995 Cancelled, Bad Weather
1996 Brecon Beacons, South Wales Harpenden VSU
1997 Howgill Fells, Nr Lake District Oddy VSU
1998 Caldbeck Fells, Lake District Harpenden VSU
1999 Pooley Bridge, Lake District Harpenden VSU
2000 Okehampton, Dartmoor Oddy VSU
2001 Cancelled, Foot & Mouth
2002 Llanthony, Black Mountains Batchworth VSU
2003 Shap Fell, Lake District Harpenden ESU
2004 Bleaklow, Peak District Oddy ESU
2005 Okehampton, Dartmoor Oddy ESU
2006 Howgill Fells, Lake District Oddy ESU
2007 Caldbeck Fells, Lake District
2008 Llanthony, Black Mountains St. Albans District ES / Boggites Senior
2009 Glyntawe, Brecon Beacons Harpenden ESU / Buntingford Boys
2010 Tebay, Lake District
2011 Bleaklow, Peak District
2012 Llanthony, Black Mountains
2013 Cwmdu/Pengenffordd, Black Mountains
2014 Pooley Bridge, Lake District
2015 Howgill Fells, Sedbergh, Cumbria
2016 Hexworthy, Princetown, Dartmoor
2017 Trawsfynyyd, Dolgellau, Snowdonia
2018 Glyntawe, Brecon Beacons


Since it started, Peak Assault has been:

  • Cancelled Twice, 1995 For Bad Weather & 2001 Due To The Foot & Mouth Outbreak.
  • Won By Harpenden VSU Or ESU 11? Times
  • Held In North Wales 14 times
  • Held in South Wales 8 times
Put your phone down and what are you left with? Just teamwork, courage and the skills to succeed.’
Bear Grylls, Chief Scout Bear Grylls