Service Awards

There are three main types of service award:

Long Service Awards

Long Service Awards should turn up automatically after 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 40, 50, 60 and 70 years. You can find out all you need to know about Long Service Awards HERE.


Meritorious Conduct/Gallantry Awards

These awards are for those who have conducted themselves with a high degree of courage, endurance, initiative or dedication, often through difficulties, without necessarily involving any element of risk. You can find out all you need to know about Meritorious Conduct/Gallantry Awards HERE.

Good Service Awards

We want to thank all our volunteers for their contribution - it's an important way to make sure people stay with us and to recognise their achievements. Good Service awards are one way of doing this. You can find out all you need to know about applying for Good Service Awards HERE.


Download a summary of some key points and how the County can help with nominations.  

Congratulations to everyone who made it onto this years Roll of Honour.

The County Local Awards Advisory Group (LAAG)


The County LAAG was set up in 2020 to: ensure that all those with a County role are considered for Good Service Awards in a timely fashion by advising line-managers as to who is eligible; assist with the nomination process and make recommendations to the County Commissioner; and encourage and assist Districts in setting up their own LAAGs.


The County LAAG Comprises Rikki Harrington (Chair), Kate Dace (Potters Bar), Greg Stewart (Bishop’s Stortford), Tim Mills (County Appointments Advisory Committee Chair) and Colin McIntyre (Administration).