About Us

About Us

Founded in the 9th Century, Hertfordshire is one of England’s historic Counties.

Scouting in Hertfordshire began formally in 1908, with 16 Districts, after Percy Everett met with Lord Baden-Powell at a dinner party and was encouraged to form a Scouting structure in the County. Hertfordshire now covers 18 Districts, split into over 180 Groups.

Information on our Scout Districts can be found here.

With such a big emphasis on adventure and outdoors in Scouting, Hertfordshire offers four Activity Centres within the County for all your camping and adventure needs. We also offer one centre in Scotland for trips further afar. As well as camping and indoor accommodations, our centres activities including abseiling, air rifle shooting, archery, backwoods cooking experiences, bungee trampoline, canoeing, climbing, crazy golf, hillwalking, high ropes, kayaking, orienteering, pioneering and zip wiring amongst others!

Our centres are:

Put your phone down and what are you left with? Just teamwork, courage and the skills to succeed.’
Bear Grylls, Chief Scout Bear Grylls